NSW and ACT School Zones

School Zones
School Zones

Most school zones operate from 8:00am to 9.30am and from 2.30pm to 4pm on gazetted school days in NSW and from 8am to 4pm in the ACT.

Notified school days 2020
Term 4 (Eastern and Western Divisions NSW and ACT) Monday 12 October to Friday 18 December (inclusive)

Dates above include school development days (also known as student-free days) as some students may attend their school on these days.

The 40km/h school speed zones operate across NSW and ACT at all school sites on gazetted school days (including school development days). Motorists should drive no faster than 40km/h through school zones.

School zones operate and are enforced on pupil free days because pupil free days can vary from school to school. Consistent operation of school zones aims to reduce driver confusion, which improves the safety of school children.

There are a small number of non-standard school zone times in NSW and ACT. They are identified by red/orange school zone signs to show non-standard times. Signs at these schools show the times that apply.

Know someone learning to drive?

Learners can take 20 hours off their logbook by completing a Safer Drivers Course